Year 1 #sol17 21/31

The final countdown. 

Things are always changing. For better or worse, it happens. Sometimes we know what to expect. Other times we don’t. 

This post was originally going to talk about counting down the days to summer vacation now that Spring Break is over. (Can I get an amen?) 

Then, I started thinking about my day and how it kept changing. How all of my classes change, each period, each unit, each semester. Another teacher asked me today if I always teach the same thing at the same time during the year. It was part of our discussion about the calendar next year and having a limited amount of time after Christmas break to finish the semester. She is a very structured, planned out, experienced teacher – she knows exactly what she’s doing and when, and I think that’s great! I can only hope I’ll get there someday. But for now, I will soak up the change in my life as I continue to mold and shape my classroom. I have taught one class (semester in length) four times and each time changes drastically. That’s ok! I’m getting there. I’ll eventually find a groove that works for me. And you know what, sometimes you just have to be flexible and change with the needs and interests of your class. 

Embrace change. 

5 thoughts on “Year 1 #sol17 21/31

  1. Volcano Mouth says:

    I think having each year set out in advance can be a blessing and a curse, it all depends on how flexible the teacher can be and if they can see and seize teachable moments alongside the curriculum.

    Like

  2. LSquared says:

    I don’t know how long you’ve been teaching, but I really get your style. Until I recently started teaching a very structured intervention program I re-invented my teaching every year. A downside was that sometimes I wanted to remember good stuff I’d done.
    I never could understand how teaching could be plugged into a yearly calendar, like dental checks and car services.
    And even with teaching Fountas & Pinnell LLI now, I have a different focus, or goal to expand me each year…
    Here’s to your teaching. Usually revision is a good thing in writing. I hope your process enriches you.

    Like

  3. wonderingandwondering says:

    Don’t start counting. It’s dangerous! 🙂 I remember a seasoned teacher telling me my first year, “Once spring break ends, it’s all over!” I’ve never forgotten that, but know that there’s a bit more to go.

    Like

  4. romeolitcoach says:

    I’m not sure a good teacher ever teaches the same thing year after year, if she did, is she meeting the needs of her current students? I know there are big ideas and benchmarks we need to hit, but reflective, effective teachers don’t always need to plan out the entire year in August. Just saying….

    Like

Leave a Reply

