Year 1 #sol17 13/31

They say listen to this

   It’s boring
They say read this
   What’s the point?
They say write this down
   Why bother? It’ll never help me in real life.

They say be on time.
     What’s it matter?
They say turn things in.
     I don’t care.
They say get a job
     If I have to, but you better pay me real well.

They say better show up to work
     What’ll happen?
They say learn your lesson this time
     Or what?
They say show respect
     I don’t wanna. If you’re going to treat me like that then I quit.

They say don’t give up, it’s a lesson
     Well, I didn’t learn anything.
They say you have to look deeper
     I don’t even know where to begin
They say maybe you should have tried harder
      You just don’t understand

They say you get wiser as you get older
There’s more experience in those years
There’s failures and there’s lessons
Maybe they just want to save you some tears

Each generation is different
They will never be raised the same
It’s not a misunderstanding
It’s learning to play a new game

5 thoughts on “Year 1 #sol17 13/31

  1. Elisa Waingort says:

    I really like your poem. That’s why we need to make our teaching relevant to students now and not for tomorrow. I know this is sometimes hard, but I think we’ve all been there as adults. Think school wide PD that is not what we need at the moment. I’m wondering if this was the result of a real exchange with a student or a compilation of students’ laments about what they’re learning in school.

    Like

Leave a Reply

