Year 1 #sol17 5/31

Guilty pleasures.

Warm banana bread with melting butter.

Steaming hot coffee with cold creamer.

Silly, never-gonna-happen-in-real-life romantic comedies.

Cozying up with a good book and reading all day. 

All those wonderful guilty pleasures happened today, and I’m not the least bit sorry they did. I don’t know if you’re familiar with the author Rainbow Rowell, but she writes quirky books. I first read Eleanor and Park, followed by Landline. They were both cute and quirky. Something different from the typical protagonists. Our school library just received a new order of books and a Rainbow Rowell book just happened to be amongst them. I instantly snatched it up for myself. It’s called Attachments. I knew one of my students would also like it, as we have already discussed this author and our love for her. She instantly saw it laying on my desk when she came in, and we instantly went fangirl and started talking about it. I told her I’d read it this weekend, and she could take in Monday to read. The students around us thought we were complete dorks, but it was a good moment to show them how fun it could be to talk about and love books. 

So, I read. And read. It was nice to have an excuse (to finish the book by Monday so that student could read it) to indulge myself in my guilty pleasure. 


8 thoughts on “Year 1 #sol17 5/31

  1. aggiekesler says:

    My stomach just lurched as I read “warm banana bread with melting butter”. What I wouldn’t give for that right now! I love reading a book all weekend, too, and I love Rainbow Rowell’s books. Glad you had a lovely weekend!

    Like

  2. lsmith0917 says:

    Thanks for sharing your guilty pleasures…those are the best!! There are days where I wish I could just shut out the world, grab a coffee and blanket, and just read allllll day. Glad you were able to find some time today. 🙂

    Like

  3. merlinette78 says:

    I finished a book as well this weekend. But I love sharing my love of reading with my students. I’ve gotten a few here and there to read a book and I love their enthusiasm to talk after the fact. But it’s my enthusiasm too.

    Like

  4. wahooteacher says:

    This sounds like a perfect day! I love those conversations with students about books, particularly when it’s a shared appreciation for a particular author. Those are the moments that make our hearts sing:)

    Like

  5. Anna Helsby Furniss says:

    What a great day! I love shared dorky moments with my students. I get a kick out of other students smiling and rolling their eyes at me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

