What am I thinking?

As you may know, I’m both a teacher and mom. Sometimes they get in the way of each other. For some unknown-to-me reason, I read a post about doing a daily slice of life writing challenge and thought, hey, that doesn’t sound so bad! I know I’m not the strongest writer amongst my peers, but how else do I expect to get better unless I practice. So I said, let’s do this! 

Little did I know that the following week my oldest daughter would be starting softball practices. Call it karma or whatever you want. I’m the one who pushed her to try playing softball. She was perfectly happy with finally deciding to stick with dance long enough to complete a full year. She didn’t want to do two things at the same time, but here I am saying, no! It’ll be fine! Dance is over in May, and softball is a summer sport. No worries! Only to find out that it actually begins the last week of February.  February! Now my husband and I have the pleasure of two girls in dance, one in a church group, and now two nights of softball practice for the months of March, April, and May- all while we both work full-time. I know, no big deal. Tons of parents juggle this kind of schedule with their kids, but I can’t help like feel a slight sting from karma’s slap in the face. March alone holds parent teacher conferences, full schedules, two birthdays, and now, voluntarily, a writing commitment. To say this is going to be a challenge for me is an understatement. Nevertheless, here we go. 

4 thoughts on “What am I thinking?

  1. Stacey Shubitz says:

    Your little one is such a cutie! What fun she must be!

    This month is hectic for so many of us. Just find a daily time to write and stick with it. Before you know it, March 31st will be here and you’ll have completed your first writing challenge.

    WELCOME!

    Like

  2. pittswitts says:

    Never a dull moment, is there? I can’t imagine my parents dealing with all this, yet I’m sure they did. Great post that captures the hectic antics of parent life.

    Like

  3. aggiekesler says:

    You definitely have a lot on your plate! But you know what…I always find that March is crammed full of “stuff” and commitments, but if it’s important to you, which it sounds like it is, you will always find time to write. I do. Somedays I feel like I won’t do it, I can’t do it, but then…I do it and it feels so great. Those days are the days I find I need it the most. Kudos to you for joining the challenge! Can’t wait to read more from you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

